Scroll to content
Padiham Primary School home page

PadihamPrimary School

Curriculum Overview

Our Curriculum

At first glance, it can appear that the children are ‘only playing’ whilst in the Foundation Stage. However, the best Early Years Education is based on the understanding that whilst children are playing, they are learning. During the day there will be a mixture of adult initiated, child initiated and adult led activities as well as whole class, small group and individual activities. 

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is based on four themes and seven areas of learning. You can find out more about these in the Department for Education (DFE) EYFS 

The four themes are: 

The Unique Child 

Positive Relationships 

Enabling Environments 

Learning and Development 


The seven areas of learning thatare defined as Prime or Specific areas. The Prime areas of learning and development are fundamental, work together,and begin to develop in response to relationships and experiences. They continueto underpin learning throughout the early Years. The three Prime areas of learning and development are: 

Personal, Social and Emotional development 

Communication and Language 

Physical Development 

The specific areas grow fromthese Prime areas to provide contexts for learning. Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to engage with and participate in society. The specific areas are: 

Communication, Language and Literacy 

Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy 

Knowledge and Understanding of the World 

Creative Development 


Below are the links for the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework and Development Matters, where you can read about the curriculum in more depth.


EYFS Statutory Framework

Development Matters









Take a look at what we are learning about this term!

Padiham Primary School

Burnley Road, Padiham, Burnley, Lancashire, BB12 8SJ

Tel: 01282 772496