Scroll to content
Padiham Primary School home page

PadihamPrimary School

The curriculum

Our curriculum


Here at Padiham Primary school we follow the statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. The curriculum is divided into 2 key parts; prime areas and specific areas. 


Prime areas: 

- Communication and Language

- Physical Development

- Personal, Social and Emotional Development 


Specific areas: 

- Literacy

- Mathematics

- Understanding the world

- Expressive Arts and Design 


Through a range of exciting topics across the year, we effectively implement these seven areas of learning and development into our teaching and the classroom.

EYFS Overview

Some of our exciting topics we cover across the year...

What our curriculum will cover across the year

The EYFS framework is divided into 3 age bands, birth to 3, 3 and 4 year olds and children in Reception. These age bands provide a judgement of your child's learning and development.  Each age band is made up of a range of learning statements that children are expected to be able to do. These statements allow the freedom to develop a broad curriculum through activities and experiences. 

What your child needs to achieve by the end of Reception

The early learning goals (ELGs) summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding that all children have gained by the end of the academic year in which they turn 5, the reception year.


The early learning goals are used as an assessment during the summer term of the reception year. 

Padiham Primary School

Burnley Road, Padiham, Burnley, Lancashire, BB12 8SJ

Tel: 01282 772496